Forums are back in action! ×

Squishy, busy 23 year old seeks to reclaim her high-school weight

Hi world. 

I'm an art student in Colorado, a state that's full of fun for fit, outdoorsy people. I love it here, but I'm not one of those... yet.

I've never been athletic...

In 4th grade gym class when we had to run a mile, the fattest girl in school slowed down to run with me so I didn't feel bad finishing last.

I learned early on to hate sports and fitness because they weren't my strong suit, and ever since I've been self-conscious. I always feel awkward and weak and clumsy like I'm doing it wrong and EVERYONE CAN TELL. Ugh. No more of that crap!

Glory Days

134 lbs

At 18 I had better energy, flexibility, strength, balance, focus... all around I was healthier. High school gym class was a lot more demanding than 4th grade, and I had a better diet - I was a pescetarian for 2 years. And, I was a size 5! I miss that old me!

Nowadays

F, 23, 5'10", 160lbs

Overall, I'm probably physically weaker than anyone you've met. Seriously, I'm like, Novice Mage weak. 

Been dieting and exercising on and off for years, with varying levels of commitment and success.

The longest I seem to be able to stick to anything is about 2 weeks. Trying to break that record!

Currently cleaning up my eating habits, going with the diet Tim Ferriss outlines in The 4-Hour Body--essentially it's Paleo with no fruit and a weekly cheat day. Aside - anybody read Ferriss' book? What did you guys think? I'd definitely recommend it. It reads like it was written by Tony Stark. It's going great so far - I'm in week 2 and down 1.5 lbs!

My primary goal is to get back down to where I was at the end of High School, when I felt my healthiest. I don't want to waste my 20s carrying around this extra 25 lbs of pizza and ice cream.

In Conclusion

From what I've read so far, you people are wonderful, and I can't wait to be a part of this community! 

LV 0 | HOMO SAPIEN

ADVENTURER