Forums are back in action! ×

Spartans! Helmets on and lets move out!

Yes I changed the title, I can't be outgeeked lol! And yes it matches my avatar... haha

Hello my name is Jo,

Here is a bit on my background... I know rule #1 says you don't care where I came from, but I am going to tell you anyway... you can care or not, that's your prerogative :tongue: also this is long but I promise its worth the read :) And please please call me out on anything that is inaccurate or sounds stupid (as far as my goals at the bottom are concerned).

I am a 5'11" tall 25 y/o woman living in the Silicon Valley area (I work in the video game industry as an IT manager) but I am originally from FL. I have been unhealthy for about as long as I can remember... back in 2007 I peaked at 305 lbs. I hated myself, hated my life, I was lost and a step away from death (at least it felt that way, I was still really young so probably not... but it doesn't matter).

Flash forward to 2014 (hurray!) and I now weigh 205 Lbs, so over the last 4 years I battled with my weight, it yo-yo'd so many times... but I finally settled in at 205 lbs about 6 months ago and it hasn't varied much (100 lbs is a heck of an achievement, but its still not where I need to be). 6 months ago I also quit smoking cigs and pot... which lead to a pretty big boost in energy. 

4 months ago I moved from San Francisco to silicon valley, when I got here I realized that I cant depend on public transportation at all... so I purchased a single speed road bike. I ride my bike back and forth to work everyday and I ride it anywhere else I go (except grocery shopping, I get a zip car). I have absolutely fallen in love with cycling, it can be such an adrenaline rush! Over the last 4 months of regular cycling my weight hasn't gone down but I have gotten skinnier and my thigh muscles have doubled in size and strength (they are solid, instead of all squishy) so I think that's a good indication of increased muscle mass.