Forums are back in action! ×

Hi all,

My name is Cormac, and I am new to NF, so I thought it would be a good idea to introduce myself. The initial mail from Steve asked what I'm struggling with right now and I left him a response but thought I could repost it here and get a few replies. My story is pretty average but I'm looking to make a change for the better and I know this is a good place to start, so here goes!

If I had to say what I'm struggling with right now, I'd answer lethargy. About four years ago, I was an engineering major in college (here in Dublin, Ireland where I was born and raised), which wasn't right for me. I never went in, I rarely did my study and barely picked up a book. What that was great for was my fitness level! I ran half marathons, worked out regularly, made friends in the gym and finished P90x to get to the best looking shape of my life. I did all this when I was feeling most depressed and least motivated in terms of my professional life, and career prospects.

Since then, I've been on a gradual upwards curve in terms of my general happiness: I have a long term girlfriend of over 3 years, I have moved college course into something I am much happier in, and I have a part time job that lets me rent a house with my GF. I managed to keep up with running up to early 2013, even finishing my first marathon in London back in April, but Plantar Fasciitis kept me out of training all summer and I packed on some serious flabiness in the mean time. Even before that though, I was unhappy with my general fitness and look. Where once I had heavy muscle in my upper body, a narrow 31" waist and strong looking legs, I had slimmed down, skinny arms, thin legs and a bit of a gut if I'm honest.