Forums are back in action! ×

Night Elf Warrior in Training needs Diet Help

Greetings All,

Cardinal reporting for duty, looking to join the rebellion.

About me:  I'm a 38-year old hardware engineer, specializing in instrument design.  I have been physically active on and off during most of my life, moving from a long stint in competitive swimming into powerlifting around the time I went to college.  I enjoy going to the gym after a hard day at work.  I like the feeling of being physically fit.  Working out is its own reward for me.

About my issue:  I have been challenged with an elf build & classic hardgainer body type.  At 6' 0" tall, I weighed in at just 125 lbs in high school.  I've bounced around a little bit depending on how much gym time I put in, but currently I'm still only 165 lbs, 11% bodyfat.  To put things into perspective, this is the biggest I've ever been.  By a lot.  Over the years I have tried hard to gain weight without much success.  These attempts include taking protein powders and weight gain supplements (anyone remember "mega mass 2000"?); eating large amounts of meat, fish, and starches; and more recently the GOMAD diet recommended over at the 5x5 stronglifts program.  None of this has really helped me gain any weight at all.  What it DID do was help my cholesterol skyrocket like nobody's business.  This leads me to my problem:  high cholesterol.