Forums are back in action! ×

Hello all!

I am new here and wanting to introduce myself! I am hoping that this forum will help me with accountability and motivation, so here goes!

I am a 28 year old special education teacher from Minnesota.  I've been working on losing the same 30 lbs for over two years with no permanent success.  I want to change that this year.

My goals:

* Lose 30 pounds.  This will get me back to what I weighed at my wedding (4 years ago).  I could stand to lose more than that, but I'm starting with 30 so it feels manageable.

* Gain flexibility.  My hamstrings.  The WORST!

* Gain endurance.  I want to be able to run a 5k again without having to train.

* Gain strength.  I would love to be able to do a pull up or 3 without the assistance of a machine

* Do another Whole30 in January and then maintain paleo until 30 lb goal is hit.

* Hit up a few actual yoga classes a week at a local studio.  I'm currently too self conscious to go in there, as I'm worried about being the fattest and the least flexible.  Building up to this with yoga at my gym and PiYo.

My nerdy side:

* Grew up on Nintendo video games and am still a hardcore gamer today.  Favorites include Skyrim, The Last of Us, and Dragon Age.

* Trekkie as a child, original series all the way!

* Obsessive fantasy/sci fi reader.  You name it, I've read it.  Favorites include Pat Rothfuss, Tad Williams, and Robin Hobb.

* LotR is my jam!  I saw the first LotR film 11 times in theaters.... and read the whole series before I was out of elementary school.

* My house is decorated in Mario wall decals.... because I am a grown up and I do what I want!

* I played text based role playing games online in my teens, and if that wasn't nerdy enough I also wrote my own RPG stories with a bunch of people on a Terry Brooks forum.

* I'm hardcore in to board games like Betrayal at House on the Hill, Zombicide, and Cosmic Encounter.