Forums are back in action! ×

Advice for College Introvert

Hi all,

I'm a student who is wondering how I can make my college experience more epic. I study a lot and tend to keep to myself. However, I'm not antisocial; I just prefer meaningful conversations and activities with close friends as opposed to partying and drinking. But, I haven't made any close friends and am still trying to find my niche on campus. I always thought college would be the best years of my life but now that it's here it's not that exciting. I want to make great friends and do inspiring things, but this dream is far from my current situation. Any advice is appreciated. 

• Like 1

"Don't trade what you want most of all for what you want in the moment." 

I would recommend joining a group or a club that shares one of your interests, as it is a good way to meet people who like doing the same things that you do.

There are usually a million clubs so finding the right fit shouldn't be too hard. There are even College Quidditch teams now! I totally would have joined that if they had one at my college

• Like 3

Miles ran consecutively: 13.1/26.2

50%
50%

Pushups done consecutively: 16/20

80%
80%

Qualify, or quantify, what you think of as "epic" - did you picture something like "Animal House"?  Or "Frat Party XVII"?  Or just something more than what you're doing now?

I'm going out on a limb and suggest you're probably not the wild drunken reveler - so what are your interests?  What kinds of epic memories do you want to make?

Chrestomanci's suggestion is a good one - find peers with similar interests and start brainstorming about the kinds of things you might do as a group (road trip!)

Check out your local rec center on campus - odds are they have outdoor trips for people to sign up and go outdoorsing.  

Volunteer with Habitat for Humanity - learn how to build.  Take classes at your local Home Depot, or see what HfH will teach you.

• Like 1