Forums are back in action! ×

Hello and Over Nine Thousaaaaand Questions

Hi All!

I come to you today from Down Under! (Originally from Germany) ((I miss the snow)) (((It's too damn hot here)))

I need to start doing something about all this excess baggage (All 60KG of it I'm told) and I was told about this place! So far I'm very excited about it all! Fitness? For NERDS? Genius!

I work full time in IT and I am a fairly avid gamer (if the PNS Servers where up right now I probably wouldn't have gotten to this introduction 'till next week!)

After doing a bit of research etc I've discovered that tracking workouts etc is important. What are you folks using for keeping track? I'm a fair programmer so I was going to write something myself, but there's no point reinventing the wheel. I'm also looking at getting one of those new G Watch Rs to help track things.

I think the first step for me is getting comfortable with the sweat and the heat. I don't do well with the heat (the weight probably doesn't help).

Once I'm comfortable with that I'd like to loose at least 10kgs (first real 'goal' + reward) so I can buy myself one of THESE! What is it? Why it's a portable Amateur Radio! I plan on doing SOTA with it. And what is SOTA? Basically you climb up a 'mountain' (tall hill) and make contacts via radio for points! Huzzah internet/nerd/ham points!

So a few fitness related questions (and some not so related, to get to know you all!)...

How long 'till thing get 'back to normal'? I've been overweight for some time and I'm just worrying about all the excess skin! (That's silly of me I guess?)

Has anyone used a standing desk at work and have they helped?

How are you tracking your workout? (restated from above so all the questions are in one place)

Are you hungry? (I am, I haven't had breakfast yet, that's probably not helping)

What are you into? Star Wars? Programming? Gaming? 3D Art? Electronics?