Forums are back in action! ×

Depressed College Student TAKES BACK HER LIFE

Hello there new friends!

Preface: Are studious nerds allowed? I don't play video games but I could discuss the early Greek concept of the soul with you no problem. I love studying so much that I use it as a coping mechanism- not healthy!!

I'm a college student struggling with balancing my studies amongst everything else in my life. I have battled depression since sixth grade. I was diagnosed with clinical depression with a seasonal pattern, or Seasonal Affective Disorder, about five years ago. I was a four year varsity athlete and high achieving student in high school. Being involved in a team sport really helped my depression in the winter months. Now that I'm in college I have completely stopped exercising and it has taken a toll on my physical and mental health. I am 5'9" and weighed 145 when I started school 2 years ago. Now I'm 165 and counting. Knowing that most of my weight gain is caused from my depression is very bothersome. I would consider myself an emotional eater except that I eat for EVERY emotion. Stress, sadness, happiness, anger- it's a problem. Like many women, I struggle with my self image. I went through times of starving myself and overexercising in high school. Not productive. I do not want to exercise or eat healthy to be skinny. I want to exercise to be happy. I want to change my eating habits because soon I will be cooking for myself! I need to start it off right!! :)