Forums are back in action! ×

Peeking Through the Trees to say Hello

Hi!

I am new to the boards and still getting acquainted with the Nerd Fitness site. I am looking forward to getting to know you!

I am trying to learn how to take care of myself, including my body. I run my own business from home, go to school part-time, am married to a wonderful man, am mother to three kids and stepmother to three more.  As you can tell, I keep pretty busy!  In my spare time I like to read, write, and create art. Right now I am studying art and English in school.

In my heart and soul I know I am a nymph, though I might not look exactly as some people would picture a nymph.  :-) I am nearly 36, 5'8", and last time I weighed in was at a little over 204 pounds.  It's heavier than either I or my doctor am comfortable with, so I'm trying to lose some of it. What I really would like to do is to dance.

I used to dance with an international folk dance group, but about three years ago I moved away from them and haven't been able to find a group locally. I am considering taking up pole dancing, but know it would be a lot easier if I was in better shape. Added to that, the pole studio is further away than I want to drive every day, so I need something I can do a little more often. I am not a big exercise fan, especially if it is repetitive. I have tried swimming and hate it.  My knees hate me if I run, so I will need to work up to that.  I do enjoy walking, but have found that I need a little more than just walking to lose weight. Right now I am working with the programs on Darebee, starting with the Foundations program.  I like the variety of workouts (something I enjoyed about Crossfit when I tried that for a little while), especially the themed ones.

Although I don't want to go full-on Paleo, I am working at cutting down the carbs in my diet.  I am trying to adapt the Modern Hero Diet from Darebee into something workable for me...we'll see how it goes.