Forums are back in action! ×

Advice please!

My boyfriend and I are planning to start dieting and working out in the new year, but the only problem is it's very hard for us to decide how to proceed with each other since we have such different goals for ourselves. He has weight to lose and wants to gain muscle where as I have very little weight I want to lose, I just want to replace that with muscle. Is there any diet we could do together where he loses weight and I don't loose too much and become too skinny before I can put on muscle or are we forced to do our separate things and just support each other as we go?

Guest guest4729

No need to do separate things! Have you two looked into the Paleo diet at all? I'm no expert on it, but it's something you should both look into for health reasons.

Since you both want to build up muscle you should certainly look into protein shakes if you're not getting enough protein. Just eat lean and eat right. Cut out sodas and other liquid calories. Cut out grains and a lot of cards and any junk food you might be consuming. If you don't go full Paleo at least do it as often as possible. I've eliminated almost all dairy this week except for yogurt which I might even cut out even though I love it. As for grains and such...I've eliminated most of that and the rest I'll be getting rid of the night before trash day. I cut down my intake of breads, pastas and rice by like 95% and eat a lot more veggies now.

Snack on fruit instead of cookies. Don't use heaps of sauces, dressings or spreads. Eat a healthy breakfast. Drink a lot of water. The list goes on.

But whatever you do DON'T significantly cut down your calorie intakes to dangerously low levels. Some people think that if they give their body the bare minimum that they'll lose fat - nope! Sending your body into starvation mode makes it hold onto all the fat it possible can and has the reverse effect that you want. Give your body the nutrition it needs and treat it right. ;)