Forums are back in action! ×

So here I am. I'm a 39 years old architect, depression survivor, divorcee, father of three daughters living in Finland.

I'm currently going through the mindset module in the academy and it was encouraged I "stop questing alone". I certainly needed the push to write this, because I'm a bit shy, or a loner perhaps. I'm all comfortable with people I know, but making new friends has not been my thing... Perhaps some of you can relate?

Anyway. I don't remember how I stumbled across Nerd Fitness a couple of weeks ago, but the site and the concepts had instant appeal to me. I'm currently looking into rebounding from the state my ongoing depression left me during nearly two decades of a relationship we just couldn't get to work or let go of. I'm handling the depression with professionals and medication now, so I've got that under control. Finally fixing that aspect with outside help has brought me back into the game. I'm looking to transform into the real me hiding under my beer gut and hunched shoulders.

I'm not that overweight, I think. I'm at about 75kg, and being about 172cm it does make me slightly obese. I think the bigger issue is my puny muscular ability grouped with the fact that the fat my body has accumulated has gone mainly into my gut. So I think my race could be a gnome perhaps. :D But this is probably due to my desk job and the depression, which accounted for a lot of years spent doing non-athletic-activity. During those years I found Minecraft, and this has recently been a great way to spend some time with my two older daughters. On the other hand, I'm not proud of my current appearance. I think my divorce made me really think about my appearance, as in like how do I appear for the fairer sex. To be specific - do I really have a chance in the dating game still? :D.. And currently I'm NOT pleased with the answer. :D I know this is not the real me, though. So I'm digging that dude out of this body of mine one rep at a time.