Forums are back in action! ×

Post-college issues

Evening! My name is Kat, and this is one of my many first steps toward a healthier lifestyle. I've struggled with body image issues all my life, but it wasn't until recently that I really sank into body based anxiety and depression. I can't see myeslf in a mirror without feeling ill and I'm hardly ever at ease in what I'm wearing. As someone who likes to cosplay and go to conventions, this is particularly stiffling.

I graduated college back in May and have been steadily gaining weight since then. I'm 5'7 and weighed 180 lbs the last time I stepped on a scale. About a month ago, after a particularly bad anxiety attack, I bought myself a treadmill and have been doing at least half an hour a day. Other changes I made are:

• I took a more active job. This is a big one, I think! Now instead of sitting at a desk for 8+ hours a day, I'm constantly on the move. I work with kids who have a tendency to take off at any given moment, so I hardly go an hour without running one place or another.
  • I cut my soda intake in half. Right now I'm down to one a day which, while not ideal, is better than where I was. I am definitely soliciting advice on how to quit it all together! I love my coke something fierce, which I'm sure is a big contributor to my weight gain.
  • I've been working to add more veggies to my diet.

Unfortunately I haven't seen any of the above make an impact yet which means I need to go harder. My goal right now is to reach 130 lbs by Emerald City ComiCon so that I can comfortably cosplay my favorite villain: Poison Ivy :D I need a plan with hard and fast guidelines- otherwise my attention will wander and I'll lose sight of my goal.

I look forward to getting to know you all and to see how you've managed to bring about sustainable change in your own lives!