Forums are back in action! ×

Hi, I've been reading the NF blog for the last month or so, and I decided it was time to join and post.

I'm a 30 year old guy from Buenos Aires, Argentina. I'm asthmatic and have relatively poor motor skills, which coupled to my nerdy disposition meant that I always hated sports and exercise. I became a terribly sedentary person. Well, a bit over a year ago I started practicing archery, and loving it. For the first time in my life  I actually enjoyed practicing a sport. I think that changed my perspective quite a bit. I started seeing myself as an athlete, so I'm less resistant to exercising and cleaning up my diet.

A couple months ago I was shooting a tournament and I started getting dizzy just before releasing my arrows, particularly the last arrow in each end. Needless to say, that didn't help my scores. I decided that I needed to improve my aerobic capacity. After weighing several cardio options, I bought a heavy bag and gloves, and I made it a habit to spend a few rounds hitting it, three days a week. I also cleaned up my diet. The first few weeks I concentrated on ditching soda, candy and junk food, then I removed sugar, and now I'm trying to go as Paleo as possible (I'm mostly orthodox paleo/primal til dinner, and then it's up to my GF, although we're both gradually cleaning up gradually).

When I bought the heavy bag (early august) I weighed 126,5 kgs. Last time I weighed myself (last Friday) I was down to 120,8. I'm also improving on other fronts - now I can sprint to catch a bus or a train without triggering a bronchospasm, I've been adding more rounds to my boxing workouts without getting winded. Of course, I no longer get dizzy while shooting.