Forums are back in action! ×

I am known by a lot of my friends as "Shorty", so I'll stick with that here. I'm a 22 year old, 120 pound gamer girl, and I've decided I'm tired of feeling like crap and like I can't do more than get up and walk a short distance from my couch.

I was recently pointed to Nerd Fitness by a fellow nerd, and reluctantly decided to check it out. I'm glad I did. After a few days I'm already feeling more motivated and into getting in shape than I have ever felt. I never considered turning fitness into a roleplaying game, or I might already be able to do half the things I want to.

I have always been thin, and have almost always been trying to gain a little weight. I graduated high school at 93 pounds, and remained around there through my two years at a technical college. Only once I took a job as a programmer have I started gaining weight. At first I was excited- I finally hit my weight goal! However, I went about this the wrong way. I feel miserable, I don't look as good as you'd expect a 120 pound young woman to look, and I can't even walk up a few flights of stairs without getting winded. Meanwhile, my 45 year old mother works night shift as a backroom stocker at a grocery store, lifting at least half my body weight at a time without issue.

I realized something had to change. On and off again I have tried to get active through various means: Walking a few blocks at lunch, WiiFit, and a considered membership to the activity center across from where I live. (That one didn't even take off- I really don't like gyms.) Walking and WiiFit were actually helping me feel healthier- Until I got unmotivated again and dropped them.

Here I am now, third try this year, and determined not to drop out or back off. I want to be more active, and I'm going to do it with the support of those around me, and most likely the support of other members here.