Forums are back in action! ×

Hello everyone! Pandamomma here and I'm finding myself at the crossroads of getting my health back in order once again. This seems to be a reoccurring theme with me because I am usually defeated by some sort of health issue that sidelines me for months at a time so my fitness never really gets the chance to take off and flourish. However, this time I'm more educated, I'm armed with the tools I need to keep myself healthy and I'm ready for fitness to become as much a part of my daily routine as getting out of bed in the mornings and having coffee.

I was extremely active all throughout school. I ran, I played, I climbed trees, I swam. I got into marching band, various sports such as volleyball, track, some soccer, swim team and even some gymnastics. Once I graduated high school my activity level dropped slightly because I didn't have those structured sports to keep me in line but I walked everywhere and I would go clubbing on the weekends and dance for hours on end. Unfortunately I had a bad relationship with food and I was anorexic for a long time. I would go days without eating a real meal and I tried to simply drink my calories because it was faster than eating. This was not healthy and my body suffered tremendously for it. When people realized I wasn't eating, I had to do something to get them off my back so I decided that binging and purging would work to keep them from continuously nagging me to eat. Well this too was a poor choice and I ended up with serious health repercussions because of it. I just wanted to be skinny and even though at 5 foot 7 inches I weighed 110 pounds, that was "fat" to me back then and I was dealing with it like any person with a disorder would, by enpowering my eating disorders and letting them rule my life.