Forums are back in action! ×

Injury/alignment condition, or Indiana Jones gets sidetracked

Hi all,

I've been reading the blog for a few weeks now and I decided to finally join the forums to get support for an issue I'm having, and encouragement to keep working on my health.

Up until about 3 weeks ago, I was a pretty active person with nary a care in the world except for the odd stiff back attributed to being in my 30s. I'm an archaeologist by profession (hence the above Indy reference), 31 year old female.

My usual routine has been to bust my butt during field season (May-November) and then pretty much not exercise at all during the winter, except to walk the dog. This year I wanted to change that! So, I made a pact with myself that I would exercise every day, mainly to strengthen what I perceived as my weak lower body. I figured a body weight program would be a safer place to start, so I committed to daily yoga practice, having done yoga in the past and liking it. Well, everything was going fine for about 10 days and then...

I hurt my knee. Minor LCL sprain in the left knee, probably from a misaligned squat. Urgent care doc wasn't too worried, suggested rest and ROM exercises. So I do that, and the left knee does continue to improve, but all of a sudden my right knee is hurting something awful.

I go to a primary care doctor, and she notices that my knees turn inward ("squinting patella"). She is shocked that I haven't been in more pain, as she seems to think it's pretty severe. I tell her that I have had some intermittent pain in the past, but it's been very mild and goes away on its own, so I attributed it to work-related overuse. She theorizes that I'm only in minor pain because I'm not overweight, and that maybe putting more weight on the right knee (due to the left knee injury) caused it to flare up.