Forums are back in action! ×

Hello, fellow nerds!

Hi everyone! I just joined today and am really excited about finding a nerdy, supportive community for fitness. I've barely scratched the surface on reading all the info, but I think I'm going to choose Assassin for my guild. I am an amateur circus artist and my training goals really are in support of becoming a better aerialist. 

I'm 38, female, and consider myself in pretty good shape. I was pretty inactive for most of my life- I was a bookish/nerdy/artsy kid who hated organized sports and was literally the last to be picked for teams in gym class. I always wanted to do gymnastics but I think my parents didn't want to deal with all the competition stuff so I wasn't allowed. I did a ballet/tap/jazz class for a year when I was 13, and liked the dancing but didn't enjoy it socially as it was very competitive and clique-ish. I got scared into joining a gym in my mid-20s when I developed a repetitive strain injury in both wrists from computer use. I really only dabbled in strength training, running, and yoga for years until I discovered a local circus school when I was 33. Finally I found a form of exercise that was exciting, challenging, interesting, and fun, and an art form besides! Unlike the awful teen-girl dance class, the circus community is incredibly supportive and encouraging. I do both static apparatus (trapeze, rope, fabric, lyra) and flying trapeze. Also handstands. Static trapeze is my favorite (my profile pic is from a performance I did as Pris from Blade Runner last year!)