Forums are back in action! ×

Hey gang! I'm super stoked to have found Nerd Fitness; I have a feeling it's exactly what I needed. I'm a 29-year-old self-employed freelance writer & personal assistant, and I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia two weeks ago. Besides the chronic pain, I've been battling a host of symptoms: stomach problems, extreme fatigue, insomnia and restless sleep, and anxiety among them. My journey here is really going to be about using diet and exercise to combat these issues and become the healthiest version of myself--and hopefully beat this condition into submission.

I'm a HUGE fan of fantasy and sci-fi, so it's super exciting to find a way to integrate that into my fitness plan. I'm leaning towards Druid (I enjoy meditation, have dipped my toes into yoga, and am planning on starting tai chi) with a side of Adventurer (hiking, exploring, rock climbing, etc). At the moment I have little strength or stamina to speak of and have been feeling pretty darn lousy thanks to my symptoms, so any tips for getting started or working through health issues would be very appreciated--I've started short walks, but have a hard time doing much else. I'll be seeing a nutritionist soon, but I'm thinking a Paleoish diet is going to be the best option to cope with my stomach problems and other symptoms.