Forums are back in action! ×

Leveling up my life... which way do I go...

OK guys, I'm at a crossroads, and I thought I'd throw this out here because I'm asking around a lot of folks I know for advice. Backstory: I've been working part time for the past 4 years, since I had my son. I have a master's degree and a good job, but my funding is dependent on grants, so things are always really wobbly. This is good since it allows me to work part time and make a decent salary, but bad because there's always the scramble for funding coverage when something runs out. Right now I work about 30 hours a week and have for the last 2 years. I have an offer on the table for a project that would bring me back up to full time. It would expand my mentorship and funding base which would be good, but it would also mean juggling 1 more project along with the other 2 I'm already balancing.

Here's where the level up your life issue comes in. So I'm a mom. My husband is a sales engineer and travels somewhat extensively for his job. This means I have a lot to juggle at home. Some of it is the typical working mom stuff, other things are dealing with a tantrumming preschooler who wants his daddy to do bath (when daddy is on the other side of the world) after I've had a long day at work. I have an active hobby (circus), which keeps me working out, but very little time for relaxing with a game or fantasy novel anymore... much less the CRAZY costuming I used to do as a hobby before I had a kid to worry about. I'd really love to get into costuming again, maybe go to this huge fantasy costume ball we have in LA. But right now it's a struggle to find the time, much less if I take on another full day at work.