Forums are back in action! ×

Fear of learning

Knowledge is the greatest gift, goal, or accomplishment someone could have, and if you aren't constantly learning something new what is the point of having a brain or even living. This has been the way I've thought my entire life, I am a true blue and bronze Ravenclaw at heart, but I've come across a problem that I can't seem to shake. Somewhere along the way I became afraid to learn. What if I'm not smart enough to understand it? What if I think I understand it, go to apply it and screw up? What if I'm just wasting my time because I'm never going to get this? 

It started with algebra years ago, but I never realized it because I jumped almost straight from fear to anger. I began hating all things mathematics. Recently though it's been seeping into my self taught programming. I've come to the end of an iPad app that teaches c# and I've hit a road block similar to writers block where I can't even open the app without feeling like I just can't do it. I love programming and plan to make a future of it, so this fear is crippling me. How do I overcome this? I've thought about using a different medium for teaching myself the last bits, but even thinking of those things grips my lungs and throat with anxiety. I don't know what happened, but I need help to get past this. This right now is one of the biggest level up challenges I've ever faced.

• Like 1

Dwarf Rebel

Level 3

STR  2 | CON  5 | DEX  1 | INT  4 | CHA  2 | WIS  3

I think I know how you feel. I have a similar problem where whenever I tackle something new, I'm so worried about messing it up or failing to absorb the knowledge that I have to fight myself not to just throw in the towel. For me, though, it's less a fear of learning and more a fear of failing, and it sounds like that's what happening to you, too, at least from what I'm reading here.