Forums are back in action! ×

Now this is a place I can call home!

Hey all. I just found NF a couple weeks ago and have enjoyed all the articles and threads here on the forums. I'll start with an introduction and brief backstory.

My name is Wil, and I'm a happily married 33 year old father of 4. (2 bio, 2 adopted). And I am a nerd! I'm a web programmer for government contracts. I have a small fan base doing Let's Play videos for Minecraft, and I enjoy outdoorsy type stuff like hiking, camping, fishing, boating, etc..

Now for the long part ;)

In high school, I was scrawny. Barely able to do 3 pullups. After I graduated, I decided to join the Marines as I figured they would be able to whip me into shape and I would have a career. I was actually on my way to to be bussed off to Boot Camp. Before that though, I got to go through the physical at the MEPS center. I passed all the health stuff easy, but then they tested our physical abilities. I failed. I could only do a couple pullups, a dozen or so situps and half a dozen pushups. So they sent me home to train more. That was pretty demoralizing. I got a job doing construction work, and promptly injured my knee. (A cart loaded with drywall tipped over and landed on my leg).

It was during this time I was truly introduced to computers. When I was able to start being mobile again, I started doing office work, and sit down jobs and started packing on the pounds. Slowly at first, and more quickly after I got married. I've dieted off and on with some success, but I always gained it back and then some. 14 years later, on Jan. 22nd 2011, I weighed myself and found the scale at 270 lbs. The heaviest I've ever been. I decided that day I needed to change. I started a low carb diet, and cut out sodas all together and on March 6th, 2011 I weighed in at 249 lbs. (21 lbs lost). Not having done a lick of real exercise.