Forums are back in action! ×

I hate my new job

Anna

I just got a job at a burger place last week and I already absolutely hate it. The work itself isn't bad; I think cashiering is fun! But even though I'm only working about 4 hours a shift, it easily eats up 6 via bus transportation. Which means on days I work I have minimal time to do any studying/school work. The managers are jerks that have been having a blast playing tricks on me. They also apparently have the right to keep me over my shift however long they want, even though my last bus home leaves right after my shift finishes. (and the area the burger place is in is not-so-safe after 10pm)

This would be a no-brainer for me, but the problem is I really need money. I'm a college student with no financial support from my family(story for another time, let's just say we don't agree on some important issues), and I have under $2000 in my bank account. (My apartment rent is about 800/month, minus utilities and water)

On the other hand, and here's the ray of light, I'm friends with the manager/owner of a cafe. It's right near my school, much closer than the burger place. I go in there all the time with my boyfriend and chat with the manager. Sometimes he gives us discounts on food or a free dessert. Basically he's great. A few days ago he came up to me and basically offered me a job this Summer. The thing is he said that he'd call me when he knew for sure.

What I'd really like to do is own my own business, but I need some sort of income to even start that.

Should I leave my miserable time-absorbing job and take a gamble on getting the job at the cafe? I'd say it's a 90% chance that I get it, but it's still not certain.

I know this is a hard thing give your opinion on, but I'd really like to know what you guys think I should do.

Level 1 ~Dryad Adventurer~

STR 3 |DEX 2 |STA 2| CON 3 |WIS 4 | CHA 1