Forums are back in action! ×

Hello from another Aussie nerdling

Hey everyone!

I'm a nursing student based in Brisbane and found NF about 2 months ago when I started seriously thinking about getting stronger to avoid the dreaded nursing back injuries (very common unfortunately). I have to say that this is the most motivated and inspired I've ever felt when it comes to getting fit. I love the body weight strength training and have gotten back into biking since I can't run atm (shin splints still haunt me). Even though it's only been a few months I feel stronger than I have ever felt.

The fact that I can proclaim my love for Star Wars, Indiana Jones, Yoshi, old PC games and anything fantasy/sci-fi/comicy related without being met with eye-rolling makes this such an awesome community and I'm looking forward to doing some challenges in the future (and chin-ups!).

[sIGPIC][/sIGPIC]LVL 1 RANGER

STR: 2 | DEX: 3 | STA: 3 | CON: 2 | WIS: 4 | CHA: 3

Respect your body - Fit is not a destination, it is a way of life

Hey Mim, nice to meet you, I'm new too and I'm in Perth. And I can totally relate on the nursing back injuries funtimes! I have been a vet nurse for 6 years, and although animals are different, I bet we have both dealth with a lot of heavy sick patients who are super awkward to lift without hurting but need moving regularly. My personal favourite is when a chiro/physio says "LIFT WITH YOUR LEGS!" and I'm like "When the St Bernard is seizuring, you lift with everything you've got to avoid everybody in the room getting their skull fractured by the flailing furry tree trunk limbs, and that usually includes your poor pathetic back muscles".

Hope to

[sIGPIC][/sIGPIC] Elf Assassin

Current Challenge: Get a routine

Level 1 | Strength: 1 | Dexterity: 1 | Stamina: 2 | Constitution: 3 | Wisdom: 4 | Charisma: 4

"I refer to my hands, feet and body as the tools of the trade. The hands and feet must be sharpened and improved daily to be efficient." Bruce Lee