Forums are back in action! ×

Taking the Plunge...

Hi everybody,

I stumbled across NF a few weeks ago and, with some awesome support from online friends, decided to nerd up and join. I'll likely get some odd looks from my coworkers and family members, but they'll eventually shrug it off as another of my "quirks", so long as I don't start doing pushups at work.

I'm 29 years old, 5'9" if I don't slouch, and somewhere around 200 lbs, though I've learned to hide it with clothing fairly well. I've always had a bit of a stomach, so my parents tell me, but it stayed fairly constant during high school and college. Once I graduated and took up employment as a bank teller, everything just went downhill. Apparently, standing for 9 hours and coming home to video games and online courses isn't enough to stay in shape. Who knew? /sarcasm

After 2 years of false starts, I've decided to really make some changes. I've tried P90X (I'm sure it's a great system, but I can't seem to get through a full week, even on the Lean program), Brazil Butt Lift (Also probably good for me, I just felt ridiculous doing the motions, even in the isolation of my own apartment) and hiking in the local state park (Having people older than my parents pass me while we're both walking is just depressing), among other things.

The system and sheer number of resources here on NF is humbling... and inspiring. Reading other people's posts and struggles, I feel like part of many instead of that odd person standing in the corner, wishing she understood what was going on. I can see that people have been in my shoes (ladies' 9, wide) and have come out of that place feeling stronger, faster, and better about themselves.

Right now, I'm looking into Parkour and the Paleo lifestyle. I'm rather fond of my English muffins, so it might be a struggle to wean myself off grains, but the logic seems sound and any dietary lifestyle that lets me have steak for breakfast can't be all that bad.