Forums are back in action! ×

Greetings from the East - No Better Time Than Now!

Greetings from the East!

Hello everyone! This is my first time really trying out sharing my weight struggle with a community as a way of motivating myself to make the changes I need to. I have always been a go-it-alone type of ranger, so this is a new experience for me, one that I am a little tentative about embracing. An account of growing up with my mother’s loquaciousness on the subject of her own desire to “be less fat!â€, I have probably rebelled against her neuroses and taken a rather laissez-faire approach to the whole matter. (I have to deal with at least a few disparaging comments about my body every time I see her) In protest, I refused to weigh myself and always said I knew how to be healthy, it’s just an issue of willpower. However, with each year since the age of 15, my weight has continued to edge upwards and I realize that I need to stop it now, before things get out of control. I don’t envision my future self being an overweight person, or with diabetes, or depending on lots of different medications. I want to be slim and active, full of life, and confident in who I am. To make that future person a reality, I need to pay it forward now.

I’ve always been very active - I come from a fit family that can hike for miles and miles and hours and hours nary breaking a sweat. I played sports in high school, loved bike-riding and mostly reading fantasy (I will forever be most loyal to Wheel of Time and Song of Fire and Ice). After putting on the freshman 15, I made some good headway against the bulge by picking up running in my junior year of college. Then I discovered yoga in my senior year, and I’ve been addicted ever since. I found that yoga truly taught me to love myself, and take pride in the extraordinary things that my body could do, and I learnt a great deal by just learning to listen and feel.