Forums are back in action! ×

Greetings!

Hello Rebels, I'm glad to be here on the boards!

I have been reading Nerd Fitness articles for about a month now and decided to join the boards for help and inspiration. I really like History, especially Irish History and take a lot of pride in my Irish background. I love music of all kinds, enjoy reading all kinds of books (history, political commentaries, theology, philosophy, sci-fi, fantasy, modern fiction), I play drums, am actively involved in some different social-justice groups in Cleveland and am a part of the Society for Creative Anachronism(SCA) a group that recreates the best parts of medieval Europe through living history.

I am a former Martial Artist. I have been out of training for about four years now and it shows significantly. I have dreadful sleep habits, drink way too much Mountain Dew, eat sporadically (though mostly vegan), am pretty much always tired, smoke about half a pack of cigarettes a day, and play way too much Skyrim on Xbox. That's the bad stuff, and eliminating these problems and the many steps that that involves is goal number one on my road to getting back into shape.

I'm quite a nature lover and find that spending time in the woods is where I really feel at home. My dream is to one day be able to sustain myself off of wild foods and to live self-sustainably in the countryside(or at least have the know-how to and abilities and accomplish such a thing). This is a very large part of where wanting to get fit again comes into play for me. I would like to be able to spend all day running through and playing in the woods without feeling fatigued the whole time, like I could when I was a kid. I want to be able to do this with my future family, to be able to keep up with children. I want to get back in shape to help me lead a happier life. I hope to help others around me and help the earth, but I need to quit my bad habits first and focus on optimal health.