Forums are back in action! ×

I need a plan...

I'm a college student in my 30's...outside of hiking across campus, my life is fairly sedentary. I have plenty of time, but seem to lack motivation. I've been making small changes to my lifestyle, but definitely need to step it up a notch. I've quit smoking and cut down on both the caffeine and diet soda in favor of water, but I'm in serious need of an exercise plan/routine/something! I'm 5'2", weight is typically between 155-160, and I'm a Type II diabetic. After reading several of the blog posts and doing some research, the Paleo diet really appeals to me, except for the lack of dairy. I plan to find and try some recipes this weekend. I'm seriously out of shape and can't just jump into a hardcore workout (Insanity? Yes, why yes it was, and painfully so...) because a week/month later I tend to give up on such things. The first blog I read on here was the Walk a Mile in the morning, every morning, and I thought, "well I can do that!" so tomorrow we'll see. Earlier this year, I walked with my 11 year old niece in the Maguire's St. Patty's Day 5k, and was disgusted to realize that it took us an ENTIRE HOUR to walk 3 miles...but I know that I CAN walk. My dad, who smokes, drinks, and eats whatever he pleases, has had two minor strokes, two minor heart attacks, and now uses a scooter to get around because he can't walk more than 50 ft without stopping to rest. I'll always be daddy's girl, but I don't want to be him. I don't want to eat myself to death, I want to avoid the kind of health problems he's having and becoming a better me. That's my goal, and my new mantra.

Renae

[TABLE=width: 500, align: left]

[sIGPIC][/sIGPIC]

Renae, level 1 Hobbit adventurer

STR 3|DEX 1|STA 1|CON 3|WIS 5|CHA 2

[/TABLE]

It's not going to be easy, but it's going to be worth it.

Welcome!