Forums are back in action! ×

The new guy

So, here I stand, a college freshman who is fighting an incredibly hard battle unlike most of people thinking about fitness. Althought their might be even harder, people have usually other problems.

Umm, where was I? Oh, yeah... I am 19 yrs old, I study sociology and economy at Charles university in Prague, Czech republic. I like literature and music and my dream is to be an expert on social and economical issues in media (preferably newspaper). When I was younger I studied shotokan karate at local dojo. I completed my first exams for a white belt in quite short time, the second one (yellow belt) took me some time. After that, I never felt ready for another exams. And then, during my fifth year, something happened. I broke my arm and after recovery, I couldn't find the joy in training. I trained only because I had friends there... But they started quitting, our sensei moved to country side with family... That was the end for me. Next year I happened to be one of the few guys who established a football tennis (you should try it, its fun) club at our shool. I was in my last year there (that means I was 15 during the term) and had quite lot of fun, but I also started smoking. (Fortunately, I never became addicted to it and quit smoking in a year.) That was my last experience in organized sport activity.

For one year, I haven't done anything. But I couldn't resist it, I used to take long walks from time to time and hopped around the forest for few hours like Bugs Bunny. So I bought a bicycle, just to have something to invest my energy in. And that is the end of the story. Or perhaps this chapter. :-P

During this summer, I started exercising. I've fallen in love with calisthenics. It's fun and it can be done almost anywhere I am. But I wasn't consistent, which is a thing I'm hoping to change. :-)

So... I was talking about an unusual problem, wasn't I?

But I believe you figured it out before I could even tell you...