Forums are back in action! ×

Useless twig arms!

Hello all!

My name is Katie, and I am currently stationed (USAF) in the swamp in southern Georgia. I am married to an awesome guy (also in the USAF), who happens to be my work out partner too. Sadly, he is currently deployed, so I need to learn to brave the weight room solo.

I stumbled across NF while doing some research on the paleo diet, and I have been reading all of the awesome articles and whatnot for the past couple weeks. I have been running in VFF for over 2 years and have been running barefoot for about a year. I don't do every run BF, usually a couple times a week. Being mediocre has been my standard for a long time. I am not the best, but not the worst either. I am not too much overweight, but not in very good shape. I eat sort of healthy, but not enough to get any results. Usually workouts are running, biking, or swimming laps, followed by an ab workout and a sad amount of push ups (I hate push ups). I have very little upper body strength. I have been trying to train for my upcoming Tough Mudder event (just one more week to go!), and I know I should have been doing less running and more strength training. We shall see how the Mudder goes. Then its to the gym with me!

Currently I have a streak planned, to work out every day from Thanksgiving to New Years (not the fun kind of streaking I know). My agreement with myself is at least one mile per day! So far so good.

I have decided to become awesome. This is it! My first goal is to be able to do a pull up. Just one to start with, then eventually enough to put the guys to shame! Also I have a fitness test coming up in Jan and I would really like to score over a 97%! Ultimate goals include being able to do dips, learn how and actually perform a deadlift, a marathon, Olympic distance triathlon, and (if I survive it) more Tough Mudders!