Forums are back in action! ×

Obviously I'm new here and I'm clueless as to where to go from here so I'll just start with introductions

My name is Richard. I'm 27 years old and I'm overweight. This has caused some health issues that I've been told time and time again will go away if I lose weight with diet and exercise. I have high blood pressure(since I was 13) and asthma(since about 11). I've been coming to NF for a few months, reading articles and perusing the forums just to get an idea of what I could expect here.

Over the years countless doctors have told me that everything would fix itself if I worked to lose weight. It never really hit me until earlier this year when I went to the E.R. with chest pains. It was scary to say the least. After the bill was paid off I decided I would put some of that money to use with a gym membership so after a little research I joined a gym that met my needs (open and staffed 24 hours) and started working with a trainer. While I feel great when I go to the gym I haven't really been seeing results. That's when it hit me that my diet needed an overhaul. I didn't realize just how bad it was. My trainer has offered to help but I feel like this is one thing I NEED to do myself. I've done diets (atkins, low cal, etc) with other people telling me what to eat and when. I find that when I hold myself accountable on a daily basis I do better. And if others are telling me how to eat I often cheat when they aren't looking.

This isn't just for a diet or exercise though. It's for any aspect of my life. Self accountability is important but having someone (or a group) to answer to is also helpful. I'm ok on a day to day basis with answering to myself but long term goals I generally have to have someone to check in with. I hope that makes sense.

Anyway...my goals are pretty straight forward:

1. Lose weight (start small but ultimately at least 50 lbs)

2. Eat Healthier (like I said my diet needs overhauled)