Forums are back in action! ×

Adapt and Overcome

Hey there fellow Rebels!

Sorry that this post is going to be long but I'd like to share my story. But before I do here are the basics:

I'm of the female persuasion. I'm 22yrs old, 5'4", 130lbs and up until recently I've been an EMT (I pick people up and put them down! And try to save lives too of course). I love being fit and active but because of lifting such heavy people since I was about 16 I have suffered from some back medical conditions. Not to mention my right knee just randomly pops out lol. Right now I'm an economist for Medicaid in my state and loving a less hectic and stressful job (although I miss the jokes and saving people stuff).

So here's my story:

Yeah, I know, 5'4" 130lbs doesn't sound like I have any weight problems or anything like that but my attraction to Nerd Fitness and leveling up my life, like everyone else here, goes deeper than appearances.

This, the year of 2012, has been a hard one. On July 10th I was riding my motorcycle (a Harley Davidson of course) with my step father and boyfriend (each on separate bikes) when a deer came out of nowhere and was struck head on by my step father. The sound was so deafening and his yell was louder than you could imagine. The deer died instantly and I seriously thought he was going to get out of the impact but his bike wobbled and he fell off, just missing a mailbox as he rolled deep into the brush on the side of the road.