Forums are back in action! ×

I usually go with a flashy entrance, but...

I suppose that would be difficult to do on a forum, unless you want me to flood the post with obnoxious gifs. Sparing your eyes, computer screens, and taking the more adult-response, I'll just introduce myself.

I'm Jess. I'm 26 years old and currently attending graduate school at the University of Maryland. I'm a life-long geek, avid gamer, and I like to craft. I'm incredibly extroverted, which usually doesn't go with the turf, but I blame that on the performance bug I picked up at some point in my early childhood. I just moved back to the east coast after a three year exile in Texas, which was an eventful time in my life to say the least. I was a teacher in a Houston high school for two of those years, which facilitated a lot of big life changes. My school was made of teacher nightmares. I'd rather not go into detail because I don't want to sound bitter (besides, my students were awesome, so don't worry about that part!), but let's just say I went through a lot of emotional, mental, and physical turmoil during that time. I was diagnosed with depression and anxiety, my weight went up and down drastically depending on the time of year, and I was generally unhappy with life. Add on top of that a lifetime of poor weight decisions (crash diets, some typical body distortion issues, borderline binging/purging through extreme exercise... You get the picture), and a general negative affect, you probably have an idea of where I stand currently - A young woman determined to change her life for the better.