Forums are back in action! ×

START, not stop!

Hey everyone!

Time to stop looking and start doing. I'm Jessica, 23 years old, and tired of making excuses for why I can't do something. I graduated with a BA in Political Science last year in May. I've always been a bulky kid, even when I was younger and participated in softball and basketball. I've made some pretty bad life choices regarding my health, and it's time to reverse them.

When I was living with my parents they hardly ever cooked food. It was always take-out or delivery, and that sets you up for pretty bad habits for life. While going through college, my life was hectic, and having a dinning hall where food was prepared for you and you could eat all you wanted really helped instill that habit, and set me up for the heaviest weight gain of my life. Halfway through my junior year I ballooned up to 283lbs. I made some changes then and joined Sparkpeople.com and made some progress and from the beginning of January 2010 to April 2010 down to 240lbs. Since then I've gone up and down. I made changes I couldn't stick with because they involved stopping doing things.

I'm now 252lbs at around 5'8". I'm tired of looking in a mirror and seeing someone I don't want to see. I'm tired of shaming myself and being reclusive because I'm afraid of how other perceive me.

I'm ready to start!

I've already made a few changes that I am proud of and know I can stick with:

Since November 2nd, I've started exercising 3 times a week ~ 45 min during my lunch break at work (benefits of having a gym at work). I've only missed a few days, one being I needed to meet a really important deadline for the JET Program, and holidays, but I took my Mom's dogs out for a walk. When I'm at work I haven't let myself make an excuse for why I can't get in that gym and get something done. Now it feels weird when I'm not in the gym on a Monday, Wednesday, or Friday, and I love it!