Forums are back in action! ×

Hmmm. Lets see I am in my second year of my improvement project. I dropped 30 pounds in the first 7 or 8 months then stalled kind a hovered there for a few months then gained 16 pounds back, so now I am back at it.

I have a little home made gym were I do mostly body weight with some crossfit thrown in and a lot of walking about 2 miles a day weather permitting, trying to force myself to start running I want to do the run for your life race here in September.

Some stats I am 55 years old 5â€10†and 226lb. Started at 243 The reason for my improvement plan, I am the youngest of 5 and when the first 3 sisters hit 60 found they have some form of cancer, so thought I might only have 5 years left better make them good ones.

So I broke my 5-year addiction to WOW, (god wish I could get those 5 years back) and started my Hank Improvement Project.

Hi Hank, I'm 55 also...although 56 is nearing.  If you want to start running and are doing a lot of walking, I think intervals are a good way to build up.  You'll start out walking 2 minutes, and sprint for 30 seconds; repeat 4 times (the 5th sprint should be pretty fast).   You just add on more intervals.  Then you shorten down your walking periods.  I always had trouble building up my cardio endurance, but this worked for me.  Went 2.25 miles at a jog a just before Christmas.  Welcome to the rebellion.  Oh - if you haven't done so, join the challenge.  Don't worry that it already started. 

The hardest part of the workout is lacing up your shoes'"

1011 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | Current Challenge |

INTJ | MFP | FitBit

Tanktimus, My diet has been good for the last 13 months or so, except November and December when ate like a pig, but I am back to my light breakfast, salad for lunch and a decent supper. The biggest problem I have is that my wife and daughter are professional cooks, wife loves to cook breads and the daughter a pasty chef so there is always something cooling on the table.