Forums are back in action! ×

Here I am

Hello Rebels,

My name is Dan, and I stumbled on Nerd Fitness on accident. Seems to be a very serendipitous accident. I am a video-gaming, table-topping, cosplaying, comic-reading nerd! Very proud of it, too.

I am a martial arts instructor by trade. I have trained in the martial arts for nearly 25 years, and hold black belts in 4 systems with the highest being 5th Degree in Tae Kwon Do. One of the unfortunate side effects about devoting your life to teaching is that it becomes much more difficult for your own skills to progress. Hard to get to a regular class when you are the one teaching them. What does all this have to do with my fitness training?

2 years ago, I suffered a horrible accident while training in gymnastics. At the end of practice, I wanted to do just one more back handspring. Well, that really was the last one. Something happened, and the long and the short of it is I dislocated my right patella. After a visit to the hospital and all the tests that come with I learned 2 key things:

I needed surgery to get some pieces of my kneecap out as well as to smooth it out in there as well.

This condition is something that has been a ticking time bomb my whole life. It could happen to the other one too.

Doc told me no more heavy work for that knee. No more supporting my weight for kicking, and no more gymnastics. I was crushed. Gymnastics was something new and exciting to me, and kicking was my way of life. Well, Dr.'s orders or not, I HATE it when someone tells me I "can't".

I may not be able to control my genetics, but I could control the shape I was in which was pretty poor for me at the time. I went to rehab, and once that was over I hit the gym with a trainer. 30 lbs and 6% body fat later I felt years younger.