Forums are back in action! ×

Finally getting back into shape... hello everyone!

Hello there! 

I've been reading the site for a while since I kept stumbling across links to articles here, and have finally decided to join the forums.

My story: I'm a 34 year old artist/musician/writer. Which is to say I spend entirely too much time sitting and staring at a screen.

I'd always been on the chunky side, but was in decent shape at 155, then in the late '90s I had some health issues and ended up ballooning to over 300. As I got better, my weight dropped to 250, where it has stubbornly stayed for over a decade, with some yo-yoing down to 230 and back.

I've worked out sporadically before, but over the last year I've been gradually doing a bit more here and there, and over the last couple of months I've been semi-consistent with walking and working out a couple times a week. What's helping is that unlike previous efforts where it was more about vanity, this time there's also a dose of boredom and wanting to get active and take up some sports for fun and to add some variety to my life. 

Plans: in the long term I'm looking to get back down to 150-160, but more importantly I'd like to be fit and have more stamina and energy. I know that's rather vague; the way I see that manifesting itself would be joining a volleyball league at the community centre this fall and starting to play tennis [and not feeling like I got run over by a tank the next day]. I'd also like to take up running and eventually do a half-marathon, but first I'll work towards walking a 10K.

Shorter term: get consistent with daily exercise. For the last week or so I've been doing [very] modified CrossFit WODs every other day, and I want to add in walking 2km on the in between days instead of just once a week like I have been doing, and gradually ramp up intensity once I've got my new habit solidified.