Forums are back in action! ×

The Great Experiment

Hello all!

I came across this site a couple weeks ago when I was searching for ways to work out at a gym besides using the elliptical (I was totally that person) and I've been hooked ever since. I'm really excited to join the ranks and meet some fellow aspiring and successful life-changers.

I've been very overweight my entire life and, though I've always been trying to lose weight in some form or another, I've never been successful. I want it gone now more than ever before because it's holding me back from the things that I want to accomplish. I think one of the reasons I've never been successful is that I've always taken the "army of one" approach, and it hasn't gotten me very far. That's why I've joined this message board.  I've never done anything like this before and I'm a little nervous, which I think means I'm moving in the right direction.

The second reason I haven't been successful is that I tried to change too many things too quickly, so I would get burned out and revert to old habits. This time I have a plan! For extra nerd points I wrote it out in scientific research paper format (it works, I swear). Here's the gist.

Thesis: I want to lose 100 lb by the end of 2013 so that I can live a more adventurous life and start crossing things off my bucket list, like going to the 2014 Hogmanay Festival in Edinburgh, Scotland.

Hypothesis: If I
   - Clean up me eating habits and go paleo
   - Set up a good exercise routine and explore new outdoor activities
   - Master my finances so I can pay for previously mentioned trip, plus more in the future
then I will be able to prove my thesis

Methods: I scheduled a specific, small habit change each week, with the focus on eating well during the first three months, ramping up my exercise during the next four months, and maintaining changes in both areas while I start taking a night course during the last four months.