Forums are back in action! ×

Discovered the site yesterday...slightly addicted

Hi all,

A bit about myself.

I'm a grad student trying to improve my health and find workouts I love as much as riding horses (started in college, won't let myself ride until after Qualifying exams next year because I know I would spend too much time at the barn).  While I'm not a big meat-eater (sometimes going weeks without) there are aspects of the Paleo diet that appeal to me, and I'm trying to learn more about resistance training.  I reaggravated my rotator cuff in January; I actually came across Nerd Fitness while searching for new moves I could do at home without upsetting my supraspinatus (at least until the doctor clears me).  The articles are hilarious and informative, and I'm excited to try out a Challenge.

I'm trying out the beginner body weight workout (replacing pushups with some doctor-recommended moves to help my injury) to replace my old resistance routine, and doing either Zumba Core class (Kinect) or a Jillian Michaels video 5-6x a week to make sure I stay active.  If anyone has advice on good exercises that don't stress the shoulder (or the best way to combat protein cravings when regular meat consumption makes you queasy) I'd appreciate it.

Level 2 Half-Elf MonkSTR 6| DEX 4| STA 6| CON 4| WIS 6| CHA 2

lex parsimoniae

Current Challenge

First Challenge