Forums are back in action! ×

Getting back to my peak health

Hi Rebellion! 

I am a PhD student in Australia. My workload sure does take a lot out of me so I'm signing on so that I can be accountable to a (seemingly) public audience as I fight to maintain and regain my health and fitness.

I guess you would like to know a bit about my story:

As a past dancer of 20 years I was certainly never at risk of being overweight. Of course, the pressure to stay thin was always prevalent. One particular moment of thin-pressure occurred just days before a scheduled surgery when my instructor declared "just think about all the weight you'll lose!". Oh the vanity!

All hell broke loose when at 19 I became ill and was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes. This is the type of diabetes that has NO causal relationship to diet/exercise/weight/age. Rather it is an "autoimmune disease" in which my immune system is some how triggered to attack the cells that produce insulin, meaning that I can no longer produce the aforementioned hormone, and therefore must inject insulin at least 4 times a day. 

At first I was very rigorous, and was a poster child of perfect health. In reality though, I was too obsessive, and pushed my self care too far. It all became too much last year and boy did I suffer from "diabetes burnout". I stopped taking insulin, and never tested my blood sugar levels. I lost weight and muscle tone and was tired all the time. But I pushed myself through. 

Eventually my body couldn't take it any more. In the doctor's words I had the "immune system of a chemo patient". I got a cold that my body couldn't fight and I was in hospital for a week.