Forums are back in action! ×

Civil Engineering Student meets Dumbbells, hello!

Hello fellow nerd and fitness enthousiasts!

I'm a 19 year old student at the KULeuven in Belgium, I study civil engineering and I recently started "exercising".

So what's my history right?
I always was a skinny fuck*r (sorta still am), I was always pretty sporty! I played alot of tennis at one point, but then I came to study at the uni! LOADS of beer and cheap food made me gain 3 kilos.
Allthough I'm not really worried about the kilos, its just I noticed a little beer belly developing!

At this moment I only play 1 match of tennis in 2 weeks or so and its doubles so not that intense :(

What made me do it? (start exercising)

GEORDIE SHORE - BOSH, no seriously I was watching this series, funny as it was.. Seeing the ripped guys in there made me think..
Why the.. don't I try that? Because at this point I would rather keep my shirt on at the pool or sea side!

So what am I doing at the moment?

I'm following this http://www.mensfitness.com/training/build-muscle/dumbbell-workout?page=2
It only uses dumbbells, which is the only thing I have available atm, If I get enough of my 5 kg dumbbells I'll option a 3 month gym membership.
I also do some dumbbell presses and dumbbell fly's. Flat and inclined, some regular dumbbell arm lifting and then situps till failure.

I also go running for 4.5 km intensely 

I'm still really new at this all, this my second week in..
I could use every advice available on foods, my scheme, exercice tips..

Especially I would like to know how often I should do my exercices, do I wait till I no longer have stiff muscles?

Ok, enough typing now, need to head back to my dumbbells!

Take Care,

Alex