Forums are back in action! ×

New Recruit for the cause

I found out about Nerd Fitness from the recent Art of Manliness podcast. I am active duty Air Force, currently stationed in South Korea. It's Monday here, start of my work week, start of my Nerd Fitness. I enjoy many types of gaming, including Magic the Gathering, Pathfinder, Minecraft and just about anything dealing with my consoles.

At work, I am a "computer guy" as most people refer to us. This means I get to spend my time at a desk most of the day. I do have PT with my squadron 5 times per week. However, this program is designed more maintainence, not improvement. I need improvement. I am 6'3 270lbs. My last PT test I measured in at a 42.5 in waist. For those not savy with Air Force standards, that is not passing.

The most fit I have ever been was coming out of basic training. I was 200lbs, 36.5in waist, and could run the 1.5mile in 10:30. This was quickly ended with a hernia as I graduated basic. I wasn't able to do any type of PT for about 3 months. I didn't make very good diet decisions during this time either. Which brings me around to my biggest problem I have always had. I love to eat. If it were an olympic sport, I would have probably tried out. I make it a point to do my best to keep the unhealthy things away from my desk at work. I even ask my coworkers to help me help myself. However, I have become a pretty good food ninja when my I get hungry. I have managed to nearly cut out all alcohol and soda. Now I will have 6oz glass of sprite about 2-3 times per week with dinner. As far as alcohol, im down to about 2 beers or mixed drinks per month.

My other Issue is my knees. Both are not quite right. The biggest part of this is on my right knee I keep getting a different diagnosis depending on who I talk to. I've gone from arthritis, to meniscus tear, to MCL sprain, and now back to menisucus tear. Hopefully they figure this out soon since it has been almost a year since the injury.