Forums are back in action! ×

Living and Eating on a Tight Budget

I'm a postgrad student which means that I have all the financial strain of being a student but none of the financial support from the government or local authorities. 

For the past few months I've been living with my parents and commuting 30 miles or so several times a week for lectures and other university related things. The hassle of commuting along with the negative aspects of living with my dad in a house that really isn't big enough for two adults in a town that really doesn't offer much to a single person in their twenties has made me want to move to the city.

The rent is actually only marginally more expensive than the cost of commuting but I'll be buying all my own food again (at the moment I conveniently decide to visit my mum at dinner time most days). I'll have about £50 (approximately $75) to live on each week. 

This £50 a week will need to be enough for all my meals as well as hopefully contributing to whatever kind of meagre social life I can scrape together. 

My main concern is eating healthy, I'm vegetarian which could be a very cheap diet to sustain if I cut down on the dairy, but I'm not sure I can cook 3 healthy and tasty meals a day, kinda feels like a choice between the two.

Obviously I'll need to cut down on my alcohol consumption which may be tricky. I'm going to switch my gym membership from a £30 a month gym to a £15 a month one with a view to cancelling it completely in a couple of months. I'm getting rid of monthly expenses that previously seemed minor - spotify, netflix etc.

I'll probably start leaving my debit card at home and take out my cash for the week on a monday. Or maybe I'll set up an online food order to arrive every monday so I know exactly what I'm spending on food. I'm far from the most disciplined person when it comes to money but I need to get in that habit.

Does anyone have any tips or links to decent resources?