Forums are back in action! ×

Hello World,

I am pretty happy to have stumbled upon this website. I decided that I should take fitness a little more seriously since it's awesome and stuff, and this website rang to me like no other has. But anyways, I feel like I should do a short introduction.

I'm a 19-year-old college student. I consider myself to be pretty fit. During the school year, I have dance practice for at least 8 hours a week. In my glory days I was a cross country and track runner (but those glory days are gone, and we'll talk about this later). I currently try to work out three or four times a week. I'm 5'3 and 115 pounds, so weight loss is really not an issue for me.

For the summer, I set some fitness goals for myself:

• I want to return to my glory days and be able to run four miles at a decent pace without my legs falling off (actually, running 4 miles without stopping is pretty good at this point).
  • I want to become a better dancer, and that requires a boatload of things: stronger leg muscles, stronger core muscles, stronger everything muscles, copious amounts of flexibility, balance, grace, etc. To be more specific, I want to be able to do all of the splits, increase back flexibility, and be able to hold my legs at angles and heights that nature doesn't normally permit.
    Example 1: http://24.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_md52j9bUqo1ru9u97o1_500.jpg
    Example 2: http://24.media.tumblr.com/9c6bd39e9cef1986b58ca3c76d4903ba/tumblr_mfr065m95q1r7t78jo1_1280.jpg
  • I want to make my puny weak arms not-so-puny-and-weak (I suck at pushups and I can't do pullups and did I mention they look like twigs).

I know that the resources on Nerd Fitness can help me achieve those goals and motivate me not to give up. I will improve my stamina. I will work towards stronger everything muscles. I will get obscenely flexible. I will have fun while doing all this.