Forums are back in action! ×

I see all this potential, and I see squandering.

Greetings and salutations.

I'm Kristian, a.k.a. Legal Eyes. You can call me "Kristian" or "Legal." I'm new to NF, obviously, but I think I'm going to like it here. I first found NF earlier this year when I was searching for information on how to get started in parkour. I'm not anywhere near ready to start trying to train for that, so right now I am just trying to get in shape---burn some fat, build some muscle, etc.

I've never been the athletic type, but I lost some weight in my early teens, and I really looked great until the start of college. Well, now I think I looked great. Back then I always thought I looked terrible and fat because I wasn't super thin like the other girls I knew. When I started college, I started putting on weight---about 50-60 lbs.---and my health took a massive downturn. At 19, I was diagnosed with a rare disease I've had since early childhood: Behcet's Disease. I was placed on a Colcrys (then called colchicine) and omeprazole regimen to keep my digestive health in balance, my flares nonexistent, and my incidental ulcerations to a minimum. But now, four years down the road, I often forget to take my medications, and that leaves me vulnerable to illness, generally feeling like crap, and complete demotivation.

My parents, my husband, and I are planning to get a gym membership sometime around the end of August or beginning of September. I want to work out at least 3 days a week there, but I also don't want to wait that long to get started. So, I figure, I can work on doing the Beginner Body Weight Workout for now, as a sort of gym prep, so that I don't kill myself my first day. Right now I can only do the first set, and any more puts me in muscle failure. I'm trying to look at completing the other two sets as a goal, rather than seeing my lack of completion as a total failure. Sometimes optimism is beyond me, but I'm working on it.