Forums are back in action! ×

How to fit fitness into the life of a touring musician..?

After a year of stops and starts, I'm really starting to get discouraged.

I am a career music producer and performer.  So I tour 120-200 days a year.

When I'm off tour, I'll slowly grind to a start getting back into fitness routine.  Usually by the time I have to leave again, I'm doing terrific - yoga four times a week, doing isometrics weight circuits three times, running a couple of times, or just being active.

Then, I go into my craziness of travelling and all hell breaks loose.  Although that expression is too active.  More like - all hell slowly grinds to a sluggish stop.

All the stuff about hotel room workouts and normal "keep fit when you're traveling" doesn't really apply to me.  I don't get to sleep a decent night, get up and go to bed at normal office hours... or even always have a hotel to work out in.

Most of the time, I am performing and up till 3-4 am.  Then I will wake up, exhausted, five or six hours later and I have to start driving again, or get on a plane.  Usually I'll get to the next show just in time to do soundcheck, go for dinner and repeat.  I'll maybe get less than an hour in the hotel, in which I am already half asleep while I have my only opportunity to shower and get ready.

At the end of February I was fit and energized, I trained every day to go on a 37,000 mile crazy spate of touring which took me through Chile, Argentina, all across the US, Hawaii and Canada.  I did manage to fit a set of resistance bands in the suitcase, but any time I was stopped and in a place where I might be able to drop and do a few push ups, I was tired to the point of throwing up.

Came back for the summer, and haven't even been able to get back into my usual routine as my partner suddenly started having seizures the day after I had my "break" and I've been in and out of the hospital with him.