Forums are back in action! ×

Complete Newbie about to go it alone

Hi! I am starting at the very beginning of trying to "get in shape". My body has always just been a result of whatever I feel like doing, which normally involves the television, a really great book or a really comfy bed sometimes paired with the first two.  My weight fluctuates a ridiculous amount, my stress is out of hand, and I never feel fully rested or on an even keel emotionally. 

Well, Monday I am going to change that. I've been reading around Nerd Fitness and am very interested to see what strength training can do for me. I am going to start pretty slow. Since I don't have any extra money to put towards anything right now I can't go to a gym or buy a lot of equipment. So Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays I am going to get up about 30 minutes early and do the Beginners Body Weight Training workout. Then, because I want to eventually become a "runner" and find that runner's high I hear about I am going to use the apartments gym to do some cardio on my off days with a rest day on Sundays. I put together a spreadsheet (color coded of course!) to track my workouts, and another one to track my measurements and weight. 

So, I am prepared as I can be. But, I am going to do this all on my own. I don't have anyone to keep me on track or to keep me motivated. I'm hoping to bounce ideas off of y'all and use these boards for inspiration and hopefully accountability. 

• Like 1

It was so great to wake up to y'all's posts! I know the best way for me to do this is to have a plan and make it a habit. Start with habitually exercising and then tackle my self control issues with food. So I'll keep you updated on how my habits are going. Starts in the morning and I can't wait!

Welcome to the rebellion, ToriRaff!

Slow steps are the way to go! Good luck with your goals and keep us posted!

Thank you so much glad to be here!