Forums are back in action! ×

Fitness/Health Newbie Here

I'm a 29 year old Male that woke up yesterday morning, looked in the mirror, and finally got disgusted with myself.  I've tried various methods of losing weight in the past and for one reason or another never stuck with them.  I always tried on my own without any support and think that may have been part of my downfall.  I was surfing around yesterday and stumbled across nerd fitness.  I browsed some of the articles, read about the Academy, and think this might be a community I'd be able to fit into and find the support I need to be successful.  I've always hated going to the gym as I always feel like I'm being judged by everyone else in them so a virtual community seems to me like the best place to get started.

Other things about me: I'm an IT professional, video gamer, harley rider.  I'm 5'9" 240lbs and know I've got a lot of work to get done on myself.  I think I've finally hit my breaking point and am serious about getting into shape before I get any older and unhealthier.

I look forward to becoming part of your community!

• Like 5

HyrulianHero, Level 1: Lycan Adventurer
STR 1 | DEX 1 | STA 1 | CON 2 | WIS 3 | CHA 2

Welcome, welcome, welcome!!  I think you have found the right place.  I'm in educational technology myself.  Currently, I'm teaching at the university, but I will probably end back up in IT admin soon!!

You can participate here in different ways - one of the challenges newcomers have is that it can seem a bit unstructured.  The idea is that we support your goals and plans.  Give advice and point you to resources.  But ultimately, you decide and choose.  Treat your fitness like a careful experiment to see what works.