Forums are back in action! ×

minneapolis/ st paul input?

Hey nerds, I need some help. It seems that minneapolis has a strong presence here, and I thought I'd throw up my bat signal. 

my wife and now 2 kids are looking to leave our home in search of greener pastures. We are primarily looking for a family friendly, active, outdoorsy place. We need to also be around liberal, educated folks. I work in finance (401(k) plan administration), and my wife will be returning to work in child welfare (sooner rather than later, I hope). My buddy syggested Minneapolis (whre she lives), and it looks great. what would it really be like for 2 40-year-olds with a 7 year old and an infant? is it fun? are you stuck inside due to the frozen tundra all fall/winter/spring? It is ranked as a grreat biking community, which has to beat my town (#1 in cyclist deaths!)

any help is appreciated. It seems that St. Paul may be more our scene, 

I realize I have an unhealthy attachment to my jump rope.

TRX opened my eyes to new levels of discomfort.

Welcome dijos.  I live and teach in South Minneapolis and really like it here.  Before I was married I lived in St. Paul and really liked that too.  They are both liberal enclaves - in South Mpls people take politics seriously, I've seen shoving matches over library board elections, really.  The character of both cities varies greatly neighborhood by neighborhood and so do the schools; research carefully before you move.  As far as family friendly, the cities are the kind of place where there are three different circus schools and there are good public parks within six blocks of just about any home.  Lots of museums and other cultural assets too.