Forums are back in action! ×

Beginning to lift heavy for women

Hey all!

I just joined the forum today and I'd love some suggestions! I've been using a cross trainer for the last 4-5 months as my main mode of exercise, with little bits of weight/resistance training thrown in, maybe once or twice a week. I've realised that I need to cut down on my 5-6 crazy cross trainer workouts per week as they were burning me out and do some real weight/resistance training. But the problem I had was I only have 2 x 4kg & 2 x 8kg dumbbells and they weren't enough for me, at all, so I've now ordered a bench (just a bench) with a 92kg barbell and dumbbell set which should arrive tomorrow. I have asked my hubby to get me The New Rules of Lifting for Women for my stocking which I'm sure will help me know where to go from here.....but anyone have any "..been there, tried it all, this is what works best for me.." tips?

I want to lose a lot of fat and build lean muscle, so would love some suggestions on a typical routine for this? Or, is this too big an ask????

I tried NROLFW and didn't care for it. The first stage was great and I saw real progress but myself and my workout buddy both noticed a decline during the second. HOWEVER, I've heard a few people on here have success with it. If nothing else, it has some good information. I think you'll find it very helpful in starting out. I did, at least.

I'm now doing Strong Lifts 5x5 and enjoying it a lot.

Resistance training/weight lifting will definitely help you achieve your goals. Just be careful of your diet, too. That's a good 80% of the battle. I recall reading you're a vegetarian (different thread) who is interested in paleo. I hope you've come across nomeatathlete.com. Lots of good info.

Otherwise, learn the lifts. Watch videos. Ask questions. Assess your form. Tape yourself.

And get on with your bad self.

"I'm just going to remember to not eat like an asshole most of the time" - MoC