Forums are back in action! ×

Hopefully on the right track for good this time.

Hey everyone!

I just wanted to pop in and introduce myself. I'm a big fantasy and sci-fi nerd, a gamer...and in what is probably the worst shape of my life. Oops. :( I've been trying for about eight years to lose the weight I've been gaining, but I've had no success so far, no matter what I've tried. I know now that what was really holding me back was my mindset, and after an experience I had today, I think I'm realistically in a place now where I can get down to business. At least, I hope so. 

I've struggled with anxiety and depression my entire life, although I was only formally diagnosed seven years ago. I'm a university student and a separated mother of one kiddo. I was in good shape in high school (I've never been terribly athletic, but I was in a medieval recreation group and did rapier fighting) and for a year after when I lived in the Netherlands as an au pair because I rode my bike everywhere...but once I got back home, everything started going downhill and as the weight came on, my self-esteem and feelings of worth went way down. I've struggled with myself ever since, and I've done my share of yo-yo dieting and trying to change everything about my life at once in an attempt to be a "better person". 

This time, my changes are smaller. I can use the gym at my university for free, and I've started with a goal of going at least three times a week. So far, so good (for the last two weeks). I'm watching my portions without letting myself go hungry. I bought a fitbit, which I love because I can have walking competitions with my friends and my hugely competitive side LOVES that. I've been playing Pokemon Go, which encourages me to get out and walk more and isn't hard to make myself do because it doesn't feel like exercise, it's just fun.